Subscribe to Caroline MacDougall's HEALTHY TIPS newsletter for discounts, recipes, and tips to build optimal health.

Subscribe

Gluten Free

Gluten-Free

Since Teeccino's company mission is to help create optimal health for our customers and our planet, it was very important for us to understand the truth about what makes a food or beverage truly gluten free. Of course, if there are no gluten-containing ingredients in a product and it has not been exposed to gluten during its manufacturing and packaging, then it is, in fact, gluten free and can pass gluten-free certification regulations. However, if it does have a gluten-containing ingredient in it, it becomes more complicated as it may still be gluten free!

 

Teeccino Certified Gluten-Free Dandelion Flavors 

 

Teeccino's certified gluten-free Dandelion flavors don't have any barley in them like Teeccino's Mediterranean and Maya flavors do. During manufacturing, a thorough cleaning and testing for gluten is conducted on all of the packaging equipment before packing Teeccino's Dandelion flavors to ensure that no gluten contamination can occur. Our Dandelion flavors are certified by Gluten Intolerance Group, the #1 gluten testing organization in the US.

 

Expert Analysis Shows That Brewed Teeccino Has No Detectable Gluten At 5ppm

 

For Teeccino's Mediterranean and Maya flavors, the question of whether brewed Teeccino contains gluten from the barley is more complicated. We went to the top gluten-testing laboratory in the country, The University of Nebraska, to have the most sensitive gluten-detecting test performed on brewed Teeccino.


The FDA has set a standard of no more that 20 parts per million of gluten in a food or drink that is marketed as gluten-free. The University of Nebraska is able to test down to the level of 5 parts per million. No detectable gluten was found in brewed Teeccino that contains barley at 5 parts per million. Click here to see the test results.


Susan Hefle, Ph.D., who was the co-director of the Food Allergy and Resource Program at the University of Nebraska, wrote the following opinion. “It is my expert opinion that since glutens are alcohol-soluble, an aqueous solution, such as brewed tea, should not contain gluten even if the source material that was brewed did contain gluten”.  Click here to read her entire letter.

Brewing Tips for Gluten SensitiveFollow This Brewing Tip If You Are Gluten Sensitive:

For gluten sensitive customers, we highly recommend using a paper filter in a drip coffee maker to brew Teeccino so that no Teeccino grounds can leak into the brewed liquid. Or drink Teeccino tea bags. Test results show that no gluten is detectable at 5ppm with the tea bags too. Ingesting small particles of Teeccino could cause sensitivity to gluten. Tea bag paper and coffee paper filters are the best means of preventing grounds from going through the filter during brewing.

 

If you suffer from Celiac disease, it is important to closely watch the reaction of your own body when drinking Teeccino. Although most gluten-sensitive people report drinking Teeccino without a problem, we have had reports from some people who are highly sensitive that Teeccino's barley-containing flavors have caused a reaction.

 

We highly recommend that these gluten-intolerant people buy Teeccino Dandelion Herbal Coffees and Dandelion Teas that are made without barley and are certified gluten free.

 

Teeccino Dandelion Herbal Coffee

« Back «
  • Share this

May We Suggest

Facebook Pinterest Twitter Instagram LinkedIn Youtube USDA Organic Cred-QAI Star-K